[]
[]

Carter Beats the Devil

A Novel

Gold, Glen David

(Book - 2001)
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Carter Beats the Devil
Print
An amazing, richly evocative novel of magic and history in the tradition of E. L. Doctorow and Caleb Carr.America in the 1920s was a nation obsessed with magic. Not just the kind performed in theaters and on stages across the country, but the magic of technology, science, and prosperity. Enter Charles Carter -- a.k.a. Carter the Great -- a young master performer whose skill as an illusionist exceeds even that of the great Houdini. Fueled by a passion for magic that grew out of desperation and loneliness, Carter has become a legend in his own time. His thrilling act involves outrageous stunts carried out on elaborate sets before the most demanding audiences. But the most outrageous stunt of all stars none other than President Warren Harding and ends up nearly costing Carter the reputation he worked so hard to create. Filled with historical references that evoke the excesses and enthusiasm of postwar, pre-Depression America, Carter Beats the Devil is the complex and illuminating story of one man's journey through a magical -- and sometimes dangerous -- world, where illusion is everything, and everything is illusory.
Publisher: New York : Hyperion, 2001.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 0786867345
0786870192
0786867345
Characteristics: 483 p. :,col ill. ;,24 cm.

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Feb 21, 2013
  • hippo12 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Period detail and magicians brought wonderfully to life.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app11 Version gurli Last updated 2014/12/09 10:52